Tejal M. Parikh, MD

MD: University of Miami School of Medicine, 1990
University of Arizona Health Sciences Center, Tucson, Family and Community Medicine, 1990-1991
University of Arizona Health Sciences Center, Family and Community Medicine, 1990-1993
University of Arizona Health Sciences Center, Tucson, Family and Community Medicine, Faculty Development, 1993-1994
  • Medical Education
  • Medical Student Wellness
  • Women’s Health
  • Tobacco Cessation
Academic / Professional Bio: 

Tejal M. Parikh, MD completed her Family Medicine residency at the University of Arizona College of Medicine in 1993. She subsequently joined the Department of Family Medicine as faculty. In 1994 she completed a Faculty Development Fellowship in Family and Community Medicine which launched her career in teaching. Since her residency she has devoted her academic career to medical education while continuing to maintain an active clinical practice.  Dr. Parikh is Director of Life Cycle, a second year required block for medical students at UA College of Medicine. She is also a mentor for the Societies Program in the Doctor and Patient course. She has been active in the UA College of Medicine’s admission process since 2002 as an applicant interviewer. After serving on the UA COM Admissions Committee for two three-year terms, she was appointed Assistant Dean of Admissions at the UA College of Medicine in 2015.

Honors and Awards: 
Voted in "Best Doctors in America," 2008-2016
AMES Scholar, University of Arizona College of Medicine – Tucson, 2015
AMES Grants for Medical Education Research, UA COM – Tucson, 2015
Excellence in Teaching Award, UA Department of Family and Community Medicine, 2015
Outstanding Achievement in Teaching by a Block, Year II: Life Cycle, UA COM – Tucson, 2014-2015
Outstanding Teacher in a Block: Year II, UA COM – Tucson, 2014
Program of Excellence Award for Family Medicine Interest Group, UA COM – Tucson, 2012-2014
Annual Silver Award for Rural Faculty Development, US Distance Learning Association, 2007
Vernon and Virginia Furrow Award for Innovations in Medical Education Grants Award, UA COM – Tucson, 1995
Resident Teacher Award, Society of Teachers of Family Medicine, 1993
Chief Resident, UA Department of Family Medicine, 1992-1993
Board Certifications: 
American Board of Family Medicine